A password-protected directory or area is a folder that can be accessed only when a username and a password are provided, so no unauthorized people could view its content. This feature may be used for the main folder of a certain site or exclusively for a certain subfolder based upon your requirements. As an example, if you are building a new Internet site and you do not want people to see it prior to it being 100% ready, you might want to prohibit the access to it completely, while if you would like only some people to be able to access particular files, you'll be able to password-protect only a particular folder, while the rest of the Internet site could be seen by anybody. In any case, a “403 Forbidden” error page will appear if the login details the visitor types in are not right. Even a direct link to a file will not work if any folder above it is password-protected.
Password Protected Directories in Shared Website Hosting
If you use any of our shared website hosting
products, you can create password-protected areas easily even if you don't have any experience with this kind of matters. We've integrated an incredibly easy-to-use point-and-click tool in the Hepsia CP, offered with all accounts, so you will be able to protect any folder within just a few seconds. You'll simply have to choose a domain or a subdomain and the particular folder which should be protected (the main one or a subfolder), and then to input the desired username and password which will be used to access the folder in question when you need it. Any protected folder shall have padlock icon inside the File Manager section, so you'll be able to see immediately what content is protected and what is not. When necessary, you could make several different sets of login credentials for the exact same folder.